May 16, 2009

wolframalpha

Posted in stuff I think about tagged , , at 6:31 am by weiszguy

Google has a built in calculator, so if you search for “2+2” in Google, it will solve the math problem for you, rather than give you a bunch of websites that have “2+2” on them.  That’s a pretty cool feature.  But Google has some problems when it comes to queries like “800 PSI converted to MPa”

I just ran into a new “fact engine” that is absolutely amazing.  When I ran the above PSI query at www.wolframalpha.com, I got exactly what I was looking for.  It even shows me the interpretation of my query, so I can be sure it’s thinking the same thing I’m thinking.

Play around with wolframalpha for a while.  It has promise to be exactly the tool I need in many situations.

Leave a Reply

