January 27, 2009

I killed my dog

Posted in money, parenting, pets tagged at 10:52 am by weiszguy

Sunday was a horrible, no good, very bad day.

I was driving away from my house about 8:30 in the morning when my dog, my stupid dog, ran in front of the car and I ran over him.  He limped back to the house, we canceled all our plans and took him to the animal emergency room an hour and a half away.

To make a long story short, it would have cost a couple thousand dollars to patch him up.

I had my wife and all four kids with me (11, 10, 8, 6) and we had to decide whether to go ahead or to put him down.  Again, to make a long story short, there was no way I could pay that kind of money, so we had a long, long, session of trying to figure out where to get the money, and ended up deciding to put him down.

That’s when all hell broke loose.

The kids were hysterical – I can’t think of a better word.  Screaming, bawling, sobbing – for a long time.  The exam room we were in had a box of Kleenex – we used the whole box.  I would try to offer a word of comfort or encouragement, only to have the screaming start up again.

I had to get the kids out of there.  We gave the vet our decision and went out for lunch (because we were 1½ hours away from home).  When we came back, they had a clay impression of his paw for us.

The kids bawled the entire rest of the day.  I tucked them into bed sobbing.

I never ever want to go through that again.

Sunday was a horrible, no good, very bad day.

3 Comments »

  1. Michael Netzer said,

    I am so, so, so very, very sorry Brian. I heard the dog yelp but thought he’d run into our electric fence and you were running to comfort him.

  2. Kip said,

    Sorry guys…
    Have you had some sort of ceremony or service yet? I would highly suggest it if you haven’t… giving each of the kids a chance to share what they loved about their dog… maybe even burying something in your yard that symbolizes your dog (dish, toy, collar, lease). Some way of giving closure.
    Peace to you guys.

  3. […] Sunday before that, as I’ve already explained, was a bad day for my […]


Leave a Reply

