August 28, 2007

automotive telemarketing

Posted in debt, money, saving, spending at 4:25 pm by weiszguy

A local car dealer, who shall remain nameless (and who obviously doesn’t subscribe to the Do Not Call list), called today because they are in urgent need of 1999 Plymouth Grand Voyagers.  And would I please consider trading mine in for another vehicle?  They offered a newer model at a lower payment.

Wow.  Car dealers are getting desperate.  This was a new one for me.  I had no idea there was such a hot market for eight year old minivans.

I paid the Voyager off a few years ago, so my current payment is exactly $0, so it would be hard for them to lower my payment, unless…

Unless THEY PAID ME to get a new car!

Which, of course, is exactly what is going to happen a couple years.  In a couple years I’ll have the cash saved up to buy a newer vehicle (without the telemarketer).  The interest payments that I don’t pay the finance company is effectively money that they are paying me to drive the new car off the lot.

I can’t wait!  Paying cash for a car is going to be a lot of fun!

1 Comment »

  1. […] Posted in communication, money tagged cars, telemarketing at 1:00 pm by weiszguy I got another call today, identical to this one: https://weiszguy.wordpress.com/2007/08/28/automotive-telemarketing/ […]


Leave a Reply

