March 28, 2007

a guy in a restaurant

Posted in courage, fighting at 5:30 pm by weiszguy

This evening for dinner I went to a place I have never been to before. Five Guys Famous Burgers and Fries. The food was great, until…

The dining area was crowded, with people milling about, and the ambient noise level was something just short of a 747 taking off. I heard behind me a man yell something. I turned around and saw a man standing beside a seated girl (woman? it was hard to tell). He was yelling at her indignantly, as if she was the stupidest person in the world. “What, Megan?! What do you want!?” The woman was seated with her back to the dining room, head in hands, sobbing. “Just tell me what was on your stupid burger, Megan, so I can find it!” The only response I heard was, “…lettuce <sob> pickles <sob> mustard <sob>…” She was obviously embarrassed and humiliated. And he just kept going. Not wanting to be impolite, I turned back to my meal.

A few minutes later curiosity got the better of me and I turned around nonchalantly to see how it was going. He was still at it. She was sobbing in her hands, he was standing beside her, whispering now, but still scolding. Apparently he realized he was out of line just enough to stop the yelling, but the realization wasn’t great enough for him to call off the dogs.

I couldn’t let it go on so I walked around the back side of the dining room, hoping not to cause a scene of my own, and tapped him on the shoulder and said, “Sir, you’re causing this lady a great deal of grief and I think it would be best if you practiced loving her a little.” The daggers in his eyes made mince meat of me, but after several eternities I could see the anger start to melt away. He sat down and said, “You’re right, I’ve been trying to get a hold of myself for a long time now. I don’t know why I just snap all the time.”

“I have a great pastor-friend who I think would love to help you.”

“Really? You’re one of those Jesus people, huh? I been thinking I need to get right with God, but I don’t know how…”

***

At least, that’s how I wish it had turned out. The truth is I chickened out. I just sat there munching on my soggy fries, getting sicker and sicker with each bite. I threw half the fries away and ran out, feeling sorry for the woman but not wanting to risk anything to help her. It’s been gnawing at me ever since. Why am I such a pussy? I wonder what an old-west law man would have done? What would Jesus have done?

2 Comments »

  1. Your dearest darling said,

    It makes me cry just reading about it, wondering what I would have done, what could have been done- what she must endure in private, if this is how he treats her in public and all over a stinking burger!?

  2. snowjunkie said,

    I would have probably done the same thing – unfortunately.
    You can’t let it keep gnawing at you… next time follow through (easy for me to say).


Leave a Reply

